Hooking Your Reader

A Journey Through Literacy

I work with four high energy fourth grade boys for three days out of our six day rotation. I thoroughly enjoy working with this group because they are so excited to do whatever is set in front of them and approach the task head on. I always leave our sessions encouraged, feeling like anything is possible! We were working on expository writing and I could tell the boys were feeling tired during these lessons and decided to take a break. I found a great website [which I will blog about in the next post] to help encourage students produce a great piece of creative writing.

Their ideas were great! Evil animals who try to control the kingdom, a witch who found his way in another world and was met with celebrations at being the first visitor… Great, great ideas! However, their beginnings [their hooks] left much to be desired. I…

View original post 438 more words

Leave a Reply

