Special thanks to Jon Barry, Annette Welpman, Katherine Fleetwood, and Rebecca Mitchell!

Korea International School Standards/Benchmarks

Standard 1- Culture: Knowledge Benchmarks
A – “Culture” refers to the behaviours beliefs, values, traditions, institutions, and ways of living together of a group of people;
C – How cultural beliefs, behaviours, and values allow human groups to solve the problems of daily living;
D – How culture may change in response to changing needs and concerns;
2 – Explore and describe similarities and differences in the ways various cultural groups meet similar needs and concerns
Standard 3 – People, Places, and Environments: Knowledge Benchmarks
A – The theme of people, places, and environments involves the study of location, place, and the interactions of people with their surroundings;
D – Factors influencing various community, state, and regional patterns of human settlement, such as the availability of land and water, and places for people to live;
G – Benefits and problems resulting from the discovery and use of resources;
Standard 4 – Individual Development and Identity: Knowledge Benchmarks
D – Individuals bring specific abilities, interests, and talents in working with others to make decisions and solve problems;
Standard 5 – Individuals, Groups, and Institutions: Knowledge Benchmarks
B – Concepts such as: community, culture, role, competition, cooperation, rules, and norms;
F – How the rules and norms of groups to which they belong impact their lives;
Standard 6 – Power, Authority and Governance: Knowledge Benchmarks
E – The ways in which governments meet the needs and wants of citizens.
Standard 7 – Production, Distribution and Consumption: Knowledge Benchmarks
C – What people and communities gain and give up when they make a decision;
Standard 9 – Global Connections: Knowledge Benchmarks
D – All cultures have similar needs, but meet those needs in different ways that may influence or be influenced by global connections

Minecraft Community Project (3rd Grade Social Studies)

6 thoughts on “Minecraft Community Project (3rd Grade Social Studies)

  1. I am very interested in doing this with my class, can you please tell me what exactly I would need to download on our ipads to do this lesson. Also, can I get a copy of the worksheets the teacher used with the lesson and I will make them / adapt them to fit our standards. Thank you so much for helping make minecraft a learning strategy in the classroom.

  2. I LOVE this project! I saw this video over the summer and I knew I had to do it with my students. I have been working hard to create a unit of lesson plans that will suit my students. The students are amazing and are helping me in the planning process since I am new to Minecraft. This is a great way to get them involve. We have just started on the ipads this week. It is amazing to see the learning that is taking place. It is worth all the work.
    Thank you so much for the inspiration.

Leave a comment